Maryland Healthy Working Families Act 2018
Effective February 11, 2018,
with legislation pending to delay the Act until July 1, 2018, the state of Maryland implemented a paid leave act for companies with 15 or more employees. As of 2/11, it will:
- Affect employers with 15 or more employees, including full-time, part-time, temporary, seasonal, are subject to collective bargaining agreements
- Does not affect employees who work fewer than 12 hours/week, are under age 18, are independent contractors, work in the agricultural sector, or work on an as-needed basis in the health or human services industry
Under the Act, employees may accrue one hour of paid sick and safe leave for every 30 hours work.
- Maximum accrual: 40 hours/year
- Maximum carryover from year to year: 40 hours
- Eligibility date: employers may delay eligibility until the 106th calendar day after date of hire
- Employer reporting: employers are required to provide individual reports or statements to employees showing the amount of leave earned
- Employers must keep three years of records on sick and safe leave used
- How to use the leave: caring for employee's own or a family member's mental or physical illness or injury, parental leave, or issues related to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking
Employers are encouraged to review their attendance policies and update them accordingly.